hHome Find a Club
Bayswater city celebrate Jason Mirco's second goal. Photo: Peter Simcox

Bayswater end Gwelup’s Cup run

Report by Peter Simcox

Bayswater City have ended the Westfield FFA Cup run of All Flags State League Division Two side Gwelup Croatia with a crushing 6-0 win at Finance 365 Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Jack Allen gave the home side the lead at the break, before second half goals to Jason Mirco, Andrija Jukic, Borbor Sam, David Stokoe and David Heagney put Chris Coyne’s side through to the final four of the WA preliminary round.

The game ended on a sour note with Sam sent off for a second yellow card after pulling his shirt over his head during a celebration.

Coyne said it took the polish of his sides’ ruthless performance.

“BorBor is disappointed and he has apologized to the players,” he said.

“If that’s the law, so be it, we move on.”

Coyne said his team prepared well for the match but could have scored more.

“Some of the football we played was very good and we created a number of good chances, and no disrespect to them we could have had ten today,” he said.

“We didn’t want to be on the end of a Cup upset like Perth and Cockburn yesterday. I told the players to be ruthless, and we were thoroughly prepared to take on a good side and deserved the win.”

Central defender Stokoe said they had to work hard in the first half and ran over the top of Gwelup late.

“They have an NPL quality side so we knew it was going to be hard, but our fitness showed late and we ran out convincing winners, which is good for us going forward,” he said.

“As a defender I’m delighted to have kept a clean sheet, and it’s always nice to score goals.”

The grandstand was packed at kick off and the home side dominated from the first whistle, with Gustavo Giron-Marulanda firing wide early.

Then from Todd Howarth’s in-swinging corner Stokoe’s powerful header flashed inches over the top. Gwelup, who are unbeaten in the league this season, hit back.

Former Adelaide United winger Teeboy Kamara cut in from the left on 11 minutes, and his shot was well saved by Devon Spence at his near post.

Bayswater’s good start was rewarded with the lead four minutes later. Mirco made space down the right and pulled the ball back to Allen, who made no mistake.

The home side were creating some good chances but failed to take them. Allen was denied a second after good work from Gwelup custodian Tom Dixon, before Giron-Marulanda fired wide when well placed.

Bayswater opened the second half brightly and added a second three minutes in. Sam’s shot was only parried by Dixon and Mirco fired home the rebound.

Gwelup’s Gavin Knight then saw a shot saved low by Spence, while Giron-Marulanda was denied by a good low save from Dixon.

Still Gwelup pressed and Isaac Koomson’s cross on the hour picked out Knight, whose header deflected inches over the top.

Bayswater still looked dangerous going forward and it wasn’t a surprise when they added a third 12 minutes from time, Jukic bursting down the right and finishing low past Dixon.

The rain was falling at the ground and the floodgates opened, with Stokoe poking home Howarth’s cross for the fourth, before Sam raced clear and finished clinically past Dixon for the fifth.

The scoring was rounded off in stoppage time with Heagney racing through from Declan Hargreaves through ball and finishing well past Dixon.

The win moves Bayswater into the last four of the competition with Sorrento, Western Knights and Dianella White Eagles, who won their ties on Saturday.

Bayswater City 6 (Allen 15mins, Mirco 47, Jukic 78, Stokoe 83, Sam 84, Heagney 90)
Gwelup Croatia 0
Sunday, May 21, 2017
Finance 365 Stadium
Kick-off: 2.30pm
Referee: Adam Fielding
Assistant Referees: Arvin Shanmuganathan, Daniel Cole
Fourth Official: David Bruce

Bayswater City: GK Devon SPENCE, 2 Declan HARGREAVES, 3 Jack ALLEN (21 David HEAGNEY 60), 6 Todd HOWARTH, 8 Paul MCCARTHY, 9 Gustavo GIRON MARULANDA (23 Andrija JUKIC 70), 10 Jason MIRCO (19 Luka NINKOVIC 72), 11 Devon GIBSON, 12 David STOKOE, 13 Trent KAY (c) 17 BorBor SAM
Substitutes not used: RGK Michael COHEN, 20 Sam MITCHINSON
Yellow cards: Sam 75, 84
Red cards: Sam 84

Gwelup Croatia: GK Tom DIXON, 3 David MARTINS, 4 Zoran VRTESKI, 7 James SAMMUT (c), 8 Jake VERNI (22 Vincent LONGO 46), 9 Dejan ANDRIC, 11 Isaac KOOMSON (27 Kris SPASESKI 77), 14 Teeboy KAMARA, 24 Cameron YORKE, 25 Noah SHAMAKI (10 Gavin KNIGHT 70), 88 David SESAY
Substitutes not used: RGK Jordan HOWELL, 6 Ian O’SULLIVAN
Yellow Cards: Martins 18, Sesay 21, Vrteski 43