hHome Find a Club

Forrestfield fight off Joondalup for 5-1 victory

Report by Ryan Borrett

Forrestfield United put on a dominating display to beat Joondalup City 5-1 at Hartfield Park on Saturday in round 8 of the State League Division 1.

Joondalup got off to an early lead in the first half but Forrestfield equalised to go into half time at 1-1.

Forrestfield showed their class in the second half and came out strong to score four more goals and win the match.

Forrestfield United coach Rod Banjar said he is pleased with his team’s performance.

“We were sensational,” he said.

“We were so focussed to the very end. Today the boys jumped up to another level.”

The match got off to a slow start before Joondalup City’s Nathan Hibbert scored with a header in the 8th minute to take the lead.

Forrestfield missed several strong chances in the first half but were unable to capitalise, with striker Ben Rogers hitting the bar twice in two minutes.

Tetvor Laurt finally drew Forrestfield level in the 45th minute from a half volley he smashed into the top left corner.

Winger Rhys Loxley gave them their second goal in the 54th minute after a great assist from his goalkeeper Luke Martino. Loxley cut inside from the left and sent the shot into the bottom right.

Forrestfield’s day was made easier when Joondalup’s Andy Robertson’s was sent off for a second yellow card through a bad tackle.

10-men Joondalup tried to set up defensively but were no match for Forrestfield’s attacking play.

Substitute Hasani Sinclair scored two goals off the bench for Forrestfield in the 71st and 86th minute.

An own goal for Joondalup City’s Jamie Kalaher in the 90th minute finished off a disappointing performance for his team.

Forrestfield could have had another but Laurt’s curling free kick to the top left corner in the 91st minute was well saved by Thomas Allrich.

Banjar congratulated his team on an exceptional game.

“It’s difficult for me to single anybody out. It was a brilliant team performance.”


Forrestfield United 5

Joondalup City 1

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Hartfield Park

Kick-off: 3:00pm

Referee: A. Begt

Assistant Referees: C. Reeves, P. Lo Torre

Forrestfield United: 1. Luke MARTINO 6. Matt HAROLD (5 Kaan KARACAN 78) 7. Tetvor LAURT 8. Mitch CROCKIUR 10. Jordan HART (12 Hasani SINCLAIR 57) 11. Liam MERIGAN 13. Scott BARKER 14. Ben ROGERS (15 Jimmy DUNCAN 63) 21. Will TSHABANGU 23. Rhys LOXLEY

Substitutes not used: 18. Ben PARRY

Yellow cards: nil

Red cards: nil

Joondalup City: 1. Thomas ALLRICH 2. Alex ROBERTSON 3. James WUOR 5. Marc CAMPBELL 8. Luke WILSON 10. Erick LOPEZ 11. Sean KALAHER (12 Samuel DOHERTY 65) 13. Nathan HIBBERT (9 Sam PHILLIPS 48) 15. Mark TENNOY (7 Sam RAWLINGS 75) 16. Jamie KALAHER 19. Andy WILLIAMSON

Substitutes not used: 6. Charlie THOBURN

Yellow cards: WILSON 20, ROBERTSON 31, CAMPBELL 89

Red cards: ROBERTSON 60