hHome Find a Club
Samantha Kerr and Bobby Despotovski took home awards at the Dolan Warren Awards in Sydney last night.

Glorious W-League double at football’s night of nights

Football West News

Perth Glory scooped two major wins at Football Federation Australia’s gala Dolan Warren Awards, held at The Star Event Centre in Sydney last night.

Star midfielder Samantha Kerr took out the Julie Dolan Medal as the Westfield W-League’s best player this season. The medal is named after former Matildas captain Dolan and is voted on by W-league match officials and an expert panel.

Kerr also won the Westfield W-League 2016-17 Goal of the Year for her stunning finish against Sydney FC in Round 6.

Kerr’s Perth Glory coach and club legend Bobby Despotovski was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year, as voted by his peers, in another major victory for the WA club.

Despotovski, who won two National Soccer League titles as a Glory player, led the W-League team to a grand final appearances against Melbourne City.

Glory’s Spanish maestro Diego Castro, who was the player of the year last season, had to settle for runner-up this season with Sydney FC’s Milos Ninkovic claiming the Johnny Warren Medal for his outstanding Hyundai A-League performances.