hHome Find a Club
Glory's Diego Castro scored a brace during his side's round 18 A-League match against the Western Sydney Wanderers at nib Stadium last night. Photo: Getty Images

Glory return to winning ways in the West

Football West News

Perth Glory returned to their winning ways in the West with a dominant 3-1 victory over 10-man Western Sydney Wanderers at nib Stadium last night.

Diego Castro’s brace and a stunning first-time strike from Andy Keogh ensured Glory’s rampant first-half showing would be enough to see off a spirited Wanderers side.

The result leaves Kenny Lowe’s men outside the top six on goal difference only, level on points with both Brisbane Roar and Sunday’s opponents.

Meantime, Glory’s Westfield W-League season finished on a frustrating note as Bobby Despotovski’s side fell agonisingly short of pulling off an amazing comeback win against Western Sydney at nib Stadium following the A-League match.

After conceding two early goals, Glory mounted an inspired comeback to hit the lead with just 12 minutes left before the Wanderers spoiled the party by scoring twice right at the death to steal a 4-3 win in front of a 1,852-strong crowd.

Glory skipper Sam Kerr netted a brace to finish with 13 goals for the season, while American import Rachel Hill also added another to take her personal tally for the campaign to nine.

Match Details

Hyundai A-League

Perth Glory 3 (Castro 7′ & 41′, Keogh 43′)

Western Sydney Wanderers 1 (Riera 17′)

Referee: Jonathan Barreiro

Assistant Referee 1: Josh Manella

Assistant Referee 2: Arvin Shanmuganathan

Fourth Official: Jack Morgan

Video Assistant Referee: Mathew Cheeseman

Western Sydney Wanderers: 20. Vedran JANJETOVIC (GK), 3. Jack CLISBY, 4. Josh RISDON (24. Raul LLORENTE 70′), 5. Brendan HAMILL, 6. Marcelo CARRUSCA, 7. Steven LUSTICA, 8. Rolieny BONEVACIA, 9. Oriol RIERA, 25. Chris HERD (Jaushua SOTIRIO 69′), 33. Michael THWAITE, 42. Keanu BACCUS

Substitutes not used: 40. Nicholas SUMAN (GK), 11. Brendon SANTALAB, 19. Mark BRIDGE

Yellow cards: Bonevacia, Herd, Riera

Red cards: Baccus 7′

Perth Glory: 33. Liam REDDY (GK), 4. Shane LOWRY, 7. Joel CHIANESE (26. Jacob ITALIANO 69′), 8. Xavi TORRES (20. Jake BRIMMER 90+1′), 9. Andy KEOGH (C), 14. Chris HAROLD (15. Brandon WILSON 83′), 16. Joseph MILLS, 17. Diego CASTRO, 23. Scott NEVILLE, 66. Dino DJULBIC, 88. Neil KILKENNY

Substitutes not used: 13.Nick FEELY (GK), 29. Jeremy WALKER

Yellow cards: Reddy, Mills

Red cards: None


Match Details

Westfield W-League

Perth Glory 3 (Sam Kerr 51’, 61’, Rachel Hill 78’)

Western Sydney Wanderers 4 (Rachel Lowe 1’, Ellie Brush 4’, Olivia Price 88’, Erica Halloway 90’)

Attendance: 1,852 at nib Stadium

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Assistants: Matthew Southern, Adrien Liechti

Fourth Official: Shane Skinner

Perth Glory: 3. Kim CARROLL, 4. Natasha RIGBY, 7. Nicole STANTON, 8. Shawn BILLAM 17. Marianna TABAIN 46’), 9. Rachel HILL, 10. Raquel RODRIGUEZ, 11. Nicola BOLGER (5. Patricia CHARALAMBOUS 62’), 12. Shannon MAY, 16. Amanda FRISBIE, 18. Melissa MAIZELS (GK), 20. Samantha KERR (C)

Substitutes not used: 13. Jaymee GIBBONS, 30. Morgan AQUINO (GK)

Yellow cards: Nicole Stanton 55’, Raquel Rodriguez 86’, Sam Kerr 88’, Kim Carroll 90’+4

Red cards: Nil

Western Sydney: 1. Jada MATHYSSEN-WHYMAN (GK), 2. Maruschka WALDUS, 6. Lo’eau LABONTA, 7. Ellie BRUSH, 8. Erica HALLOWAY, 10. Lee FALKON, 11. Marlous PIEETE (13. Olivia PRICE 66’), 12. Rachel LOWE, 15. Talitha KRAMER, 16. Alix ROBERTS, 19. Susan PHONSONGKHAM (5. Kahlia HOGG 88’)

Substitutes not used: 3. Jennifer BISSET, 30. Nicole SIMONSEN (GK)

Yellow cards: Rachel Lowe 50’, Lee Falkon 68’, Maruschka Waldus 80’

Red cards: Nil