hHome Find a Club

Johnson leads Subiaco to Victory

Report by Callum George

Sean Johnson scored a hat-trick as Subiaco claimed an important three points in their Amateur Premier Division clash with Leeming Strikers.

Leeming started quickly as Lucus Pickering bombed down the left wing and picked out Yohan Crampon, whose shot deflected wide of the far post.

The visitors were in control and had another golden chance when Kyle Lyons’ close-range strike was cleared off the line by Dan Raine.

Subiaco grew into the game as it went on and they opened the scoring on 25 minutes.

Ryan Fish capitalised on a poor pass from Jordan Jones and curled his shot around the stranded goalkeeper from the edge of the area.

Leeming came agonisingly close to drawing level before the break when David Pacin picked out Pickering whose header crashed into the post.

Lyons almost levelled the scores for his side minutes into the second half when his long-range effort was curled inches wide of the far post.

Leeming mounted further pressure on the hosts, but couldn’t find the back of the net and Subiaco made them pay with a second goal on the break.

Johnson got on the end of a terrific pass from Halil Russo and headed into the bottom corner to double their advantage.

Leeming pulled one back when Andrew Jennings tapped in the rebound after Pacin’s initial shot was saved, but Subiaco restored their two goal lead eight minutes before the end.

Fish got in behind the visitors defence and kept his cool to find the bottom corner and bag his second as the hosts rolled towards victory.

Johnson then found the back of the net on two more occasions late on to wrap up the points and a big win for Subiaco.

Subiaco 5 (Fish 25min, 82, Johnson 56, 87, 90+2)
Leeming Strikers 1 (Jennings 72min)
Sunday, June 11, 2017
Rosalie Park
Kick-off: 3:00pm
Referee: A. Timou
Assistant Referee: S. Steinan

Subiaco: GK. Thom BAKER, 2. David GROSE, 4. Dan RAINE, 8. Paddy BEGLEY, 9. Sean JOHNSON, 10. Ryan FISH, 12. Halil RUSSO, 13. Tim PUGH (7. Liam BRICK 79’), 14. Kevin PUNSELE, 16. Jacob CHRUSINSIH, 17. Nick RICHARDS
Substitutes not used: 3. Nafyn PATTIARATCHI, 5. Patrick HAYES
Yellow Cards: Nil
Red Cards: Nil

Leeming Strikers: GK: Jordan JONES (23. Joshua BLACKMAN 90’), 2. Tom GRANT, 3. Kudzi CHIGUANDA, 4. Matt BLACKMORE, 5. Clayton KENDAL, 6. Kyle LYONS (18. Michael JENNYS 60’), 7. Ben GRIEVES, 8. Danny MCKENZIE, 11. Lucus PICKERING, 17. Yohan CRAMPON (9. Andrew JENNINGS 60’), 19. David PACIN
Substitutes not used: 14. Will KIRPATRICK, 16. Liam MONTGOMERY
Yellow Cards: Tom GRANT 75, David PACIN 72
Red Cards: Nil