hHome Find a Club

Junior NPLWA conferences selected for 2018

Football West News

The composition of the Junior NPLWA for 2018 has been determined with clubs to compete in a dual model structure that delivers equal opportunity for all teams.

Under the new format, similar to that proposed in the independent NPLWA Review Report, clubs will be placed in three Conferences of approximately equal standard.

Teams will compete home and away against all opponents within their Conference before league standings are used to determine team-based Divisions for the second half of the season.

Under this model, teams from all age groups within a club will compete against the same opponent each weekend in the first half of the season (Conference). In the second half of the season, individual teams will be placed into one of four Divisions consisting of teams that have achieved similar results in the Conference stage.

The second half of the season will provide a greater challenge to higher performing teams and give less advanced teams opportunities to improve their performances.



Blue White Black


ECU Joondalup

Fremantle City

Joondalup United

Rockingham City


Cockburn City

Floreat Athena

Mandurah City

Perth Glory


South West Phoenix

Stirling Lions

Bayswater City

Ellenbrook United

Forrestfield United*

Inglewood United

Joondalup City

Murdoch University Melville

Perth SC


Conferences have been selected to be of approximately equal standards, although it is accepted there are varying team standards within each club. Forrestfield United were promoted at the end of the 2017 season and were randomly placed in the Black Conference.

The Junior NPLWA aims to provide players across the metropolitan area and south to Bunbury with exposure to high standards of coaching and competition. The proposed flat-structure competition encourages all Junior NPLWA clubs to improve coaching and training standards with the objective of improving player capability.

This dual model allows for Technical Directors to assess all teams at a single venue throughout the first half of the season (minimum 12 games). During the Division stage, club Technical Directors are encouraged to focus on the areas of strengths and weaknesses identified in the first half of the season.

The Junior NPLWA competition will consist of U13, U14, U15 and U16 age groups from 2018. All U12 teams will compete in the Football West Smarter than Smoking Junior Leagues competitions in nine-versus-nine matches from next season.

Click here for more information on the U12 change to nine-versus-nine football.