hHome Find a Club
Football West CEO James Curtis presents the Bankwest Women's Challenge Cup to Perth Glory Women captain Kim Carroll (centre) and coach Bobby Despotovski (right). Photo: Fotoenzo

Late goals bring Glory victory

Football West News

Two late goals from Lexie Moreno and Caitlin Doeglas earned Perth Glory a 2-0 victory over the WA State Women’s Team in the Bankwest Women’s Challenge Cup at Hartfield Park on Tuesday night.

After a goalless first-half and a tight tussle in the early stages of the second period, the match was brought to life by Moreno’s stunning strike in the 76th minute.

Moreno sized up the opportunity before letting fly with a thunderous shot from 25m.

Doeglas doubled the advantage just 60 seconds later to give Glory breathing space in the closing stages.

Around 800 people attended the match, with all proceeds from entry fees donated to Telethon.

WA coach Ben Anderton said the scoreline didn’t reflect how tight the game was.

“The Glory started the game well, but I thought after that we played a good brand of football and took the game to them,” he said.

“We  came to life after half time, hit the woodwork, and hurt them down the flanks. We made changes late in the game to give all the girls a run, and we lost our shape a little.

“But I was really pleased to see a good crowd and a number of state league coaches coming down to watch the WA team play, and on tonight’s performance it shows the depth of talent we have in the state league.”

Glory coach Bobby Despotovski was pleased with his side’s performance ahead of the opening to the W-League season.

“It was a good workout for us tonight and no injuries is important,” he said.

“We managed to get 90 minutes into some players, and some got sixty minutes, so overall very happy with the performance.”

The grandstand was packed at kick-off, and it was Glory who opened with a number of chances.

Mariana Tabain sent Doeglas in on goal, but Morgan Aquino stood tall to deny her, and moments later Shawn Billam’s snap shot flashed wide of the target.

The WA side settled and skipper Elisa D’Ovidio saw her shot fly over the top, before Ellie LA Monte’s powerful header was well saved by Melissa Maizels.

It was a tight first half, with the lively Demi Vance, Katarina Jukic, D’Ovidio and Jamie-Lee Gale shining for the WA side, while Shannon May, Tabain, Kim Carroll and Nicola Bolger impressed for Glory.

WA went close to the opener five minutes into the second half. Vance, who was playing her final game in WA before heading back to Ireland, saw her shot on the run crash off the woodwork.

WA keeper Aquino then produced a stunning save to deny Billam’s long-range shot on the hour as Glory started to dominate, and it wasn’t a surprise when they took the lead 14 minutes from time.

Roisin O’Connelly picked out Moreno, who drove forward and hit an unstoppable long-range shot that gave Maya Diederichsen no chance.

They doubled their lead sixty seconds later, Doeglas finding space on the left of the penalty area and hitting an unstoppable shot past Diederichsen.

The WA custodian produced two late saves to keep the score respectable, with Glory celebrating the Cup title at the whistle.

WA State Women 0

Perth Glory 2 (Moreno 76min, Doeglas 77)

Tuesday October 3, 2017

Hartfield Park

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

WA State Women’s Team: GK Morgan AQUINO, RGK Maya DIEDERICHSEN, 2 Katarina JUKIC, 3 Larissa WALSH, 4 Stephanie SIMMONDS, 5 Cheyenne Wise JARVIS, 6 Jamie-Lee GALE, 7 Ellie LA MONTE, 8 Demi VANCE, 9 Tia STONHILL, 10 Sadie LAWRENCE, 11 Isabella FOLETTA, 12 Elisa D’OVIDIO, 13 Rebecca BENNETT, 14 Kathryn SCHUBERT, 15 Emily DUNN, 16 Nicole CAMPBELL, 17 Liana COOK, 18 Jessi VALENTI

Perth Glory Women: GK Melissa MAIZELS, RGK Gabby DAL BUSCO, 2 Sarah CARROLL, 3 Kim CARROLL, 4 Natasha RIGBY, 5 Patricia CHARALAMBOUS, 6 Danielle BROGAN, 8 Shawn BILLAM, 9 Roisin O’CONNELLY, 11 Nicola BOLGER, 12 Shannon MAY, 13 Jaymee GIBBONS, 14 Caitlin DOEGLAS, 15 Abbey MEAKINS, 17 Mariana TABAIN, 19 Lexie MORENO