hHome Find a Club

Seven WA players in Pararoos

Football West News

Seven West Australians were named in the Pararoos squad for the first training camp of the year in Sydney this weekend.

New faces Brad Scott, Samuel McConnachy and Connor Bunce will join Chris Barty, Nick Prescott, Alessandro La Verghetta and Rodrigue Niyongere in the 25-player squad, which is building towards the IFCPF Asia-Oceania Championships later this year.

WA has the second highest number of players in the squad and Football West Head of Development Jamie Harnwell said it underlined the strength in depth in the State.

“Once again seven players from WA have made the squad, emphasising the level of football talent being produced in our State,” Harnwell said.

“We are extremely proud of the efforts of all players, coaches and staff in the WA Paralympic Football Program and this Pararoos selection highlights the development pathways and opportunities that are available for Paralypmic athletes in our State.

“I wish the boys the best of luck for the camp as the team looks ahead to the IFCPF Asia-Oceania Championships in November.”

The championships, which will be held in Iran, will double as qualifiers for the 2019 IFCPF World Cup.

Pararoos Head Coach Kai Lammert said the camp would give more players the chance to stake their claims.

He said: “This is not only our first camp of the year but also the first camp under new classification rules so there is the opportunity for everyone to prove themselves.

“The thinking behind this particular selection is that we are looking to extend the squad for the upcoming international program.

“It is one thing to perform at a domestic level but playing at international level is a different challenge.

“This camp we will see where each player is at and who is ready to step up to the next level.”

Pararoos – Sydney Training Camp Details
Dates: Friday 2 March – Sunday 4 March 2018
Location: Valentine Sports Park, Glenwood, Sydney

Ben Atkins (NSW), David Barber (QLD), Chris Barty (WA), Joshua Beekes (VIC), Christian Bitsikas (VIC), Timothy Blowes (NSW), Connor Bunce (WA), Daniel Campbell (NSW), Con Christodolou (VIC), Matthew Hearne (NSW), Alessandro La Verghetta (WA), Taj Lynch (NSW), Angus Macgregor (VIC), Connor Marsh (NSW), Samuel McConnachy (WA), Evan Moorby (ACT), Augustine Murphy (NSW), Rodrigue Niyongere (WA), Nicholas Prescott (WA), Christopher Pyne (NSW), Ben Roche (VIC), Goki Saito (NSW), Brad Scott (WA), Ben Sutton (NSW), Christian Tsangas (VIC).