hHome Find a Club

Kingsley edge Wembley to go clear at top

Report by Edward Nixon

Unbeaten Kingsley SC moved three points clear at the top of the Belt Up Amateur Premier Division after overcoming Wembley Downs 2-1 in a tight Round Eight encounter at Chichester Reserve.

Steve Dimitrovich’s side are now the only undefeated team in the division following North Perth United’s surprise home loss to Kwinana United.

Kingsley squeezed home thanks to goals from defenders Ryan Carr and Aaron Lickiss either side of half-time.

Winners of their last four games, Kingsley controlled the tempo early on and Jesse Higgins and Joel Gillespie both went close inside the opening half-hour.

Wembley did well to soak up the early home pressure but they were eventually breached 33 minutes in after they failed to deal with Gillespie’s corner which allowed Carr to stab home.

Fellow defender Lickiss then went close to doubling the league leaders’ advantage but his header was well saved by Wembley goalkeeper Jeff Cornez.

Sitting on the cusp of the top four, Wembley burst out of the blocks after the restart and Juraj Galba and Dean Woll forced Ryan Moss into action.

Despite starting the second half brightly, Wembley fell further behind when Lickiss nodded home from close range.

Lickiss then turned villain as he brought down Jay McDonald in the box. Stephen Geoghegan converted the spot kick to set up a grandstand finish, but Kingsley held on for their fifth win in a row.

Star player: Joel Gillespie (Kingsley SC)

Kingsley SC 2 (Carr 33min, Lickiss 54)
Wembley Downs 1 (Geoghegan 80)

Chichester Reserve
Sunday, June 9
Kick-off: 3:00pm
Referee: Stewart Beattie
Assistant referee: H Bradley, supplied

Kingsley SC: 2. Simone SICHEL (9. Cameron BISHOP 76), 3. Bailey SALMON, 4. Aaron LICKISS, 7. Lewis FLATT (5. Jason MURRAY 90), 8. Joel GILLESPIE, 10, Jayden DRUMMOND, 11. Luke ARMSTRONG (13. Lee THOMAS 63), 12. Josh WALDOCK, 15. Ryan CARR, 16. Jesse HIGGINS, 65. Ryan MOSS (GK)
Substitutes not used: 14. Matthew ALLEN, 32. Mark WOOLLEY
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil

Wembley Downs: 2. Michael O’CONNOR, 4. Jay McDONALD, 6. Ryan MORRIS, 9. Dean WOLL, 11. Stephen GEOGHEGAN, 13. Keith ROCHFORD, 19. Juraj GALBA (10. David MORRIS 85), 29. William FUHLEIGH, 44. Dylan BROWNE (7. Ahren GRAY 76) (5. Daniel VEADY 90), 73. Paddy BEGLEY, 88. Jeff CORNEZ (GK)
Substitutes not used: 13. Fillipe LIMA, 48. James MACKIE
Yellow cards: McDonald 62, Fuhleigh 88
Red cards: Nil