hHome Find a Club

Belt Up Amateur Cup: Leeming thump Subiaco

Report by Samuel Hays

Leeming Strikers have comfortably progressed to the next round of the Belt Up Amateur Cup after a 5-1 win over Subiaco at Rosalie Park on Saturday afternoon.

Despite the one-sided score line, Division One Subiaco started strongly against their Premier Division opponents with Cameron Chambers netting after only four minutes and sending another shot just wide.

But Leeming soon found their groove and were rewarded with a goal in the 27th minute as Michael Maraten displayed a fantastic work rate to cut the ball back to Aaron Banadoili for an easy finish.

The second goal would come just nine minutes later when Paulo Collho placed his shot from the edge of the box into the top right corner.

Leeming’s dominance continued after the break as Banadoili put away the rebound following a save from Subiaco keeper Oscar Baxendale to deny a Maraten shot.

And things went from bad to worse for Subiaco in the 80th minute as a Collho corner found Baldave Singh at the back post who headed in from close range.

Banadoili then claimed his hat-trick with five minutes remaining to put the nail in the Subiaco coffin as he tapped home a cross from Maraten.

Star player: Michael Maraten (Leeming Strikers)

Subiaco 1 (Chambers 4min)
Leeming Strikers 5 (Banadoili 27 70 85, Collho 36, Singh 80)

Rosalie Park
Saturday, May 18
Referee: S Clarke
Assistant referee: S Knight, supplied

Subiaco: 1. Oscar Baxendale, 3. Ryan Taylor, 11. Harry Newton, 10. Noah D’Annanzio, 7. Kevin Punsellie (12. Luke Peackey 82), 6. Nathan Snow, 9. Kaidyn Iria (5. Lewis Yirian 70), 17. Cameron Chambers, 16. Matthew Byrd, 2. Luke Thistlewaite
Substitutes not used: 14. Josh Neville, 4. Jack Brett
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil

Leeming Strikers: 1. Jordan Jones, 2. Michael Maraten, 3. Kudli Chiguanda, 5. Tom Grant, 6. Paulo Collho, 8. Danny McKenzie, 12. Liam Montgomery (9. Alexander Ha 78, 15. McKenzie Buizgoyne, 17. Aydan Evans, 18. Aaron Banadoili, 26. Baldave Singh
Substitutes not used: 4. Matt Bennion, 10. Bradley North, 7. Ben Greaves, 19. David Palin
Yellow cards: Jones
Red cards: Nil