hHome Find a Club
The Gold Fields State Under 14s after winning the 2019 National Youth Championships for Boys

Champions! Gold Fields U14s win national title

Football West News

The Gold Fields State Under 14 are celebrating tonight after they were crowned FFA National Youth Champions for Boys on a dramatic Day Four in sunny Coffs Harbour.

The Football West side were in a three-way round-robin against the two other best Member Federation teams to decide the overall winners at C.ex International Stadium.

In the opening match of the morning session, the Gold Fields side played out an exciting 3-3 draw against Victoria Metro White.

They twice had to come from behind inside the first half-hour, with Sameer Hourani (Ellenbrook United) and Ethan Banks (Sorrento) getting them on terms.

The WA boys then took the lead thanks to Royle Rahamim (Bayswater City), before the Victorians showed their spirit by making it 3-3 and that is how it finished.

The next match saw Victoria Metro White go down 2-0 to Victoria Metro Blue, which meant the national champions would be decided when Football West took on Victoria Metro Blue in the final game.

The West Australians went into the match knowing only a victory would do and they flew out of the blocks. Orhan Boric put them ahead on 21 minutes and 60 seconds later it was 2-0 after Toby Snook (ECU Joondalup) struck.

The Victorian team pulled a goal back in the second half but there was to be no denying Matt Brook’s players.

Football West Technical Director Cris Ola said: “This is a terrific result. No other team could match their will-to-win, they are a fantastic team with an unbelievable attitude.”

The win means WA has had national boys champions at U15, U14 and U13 (twice) since 2010.

“This was the missing piece of the puzzle,” Ola said.

The U14s will meet Hyundai A-League academy national champions Newcastle Jets on Friday, followed by the presentations of the medallions and trophies.

Meanwhile, the Gold Fields State Under 13s played just one game on Thursday, drawing 1-1 with QLD Country.

Victoria Metro took out the Member Federation 13 Years title while Brisbane Roar won the competition for A-League teams.

The winning WA squad

Coach: Matt Brook

Assistant Coach: Mark Scanlan



Joondalup City



Cockburn City






ECU Joondalup



ECU Joondalup



Inglewood United



South West Phoenix


De Abreu

ECU Joondalup



ECU Joondalup



Ellenbrook United



Mandurah City



ECU Joondalup



Bayswater City



ECU Joondalup


Da Rocha

Perth SC



Murdoch Uni Melville



Perth SC

13 Years

8:30am – Victoria Country 2 (M. Peretin 14′, R. Kalms 27′) def. Capital Football 0

8:30am – QLD Metro 0 drew Newcastle Jets 12s 0

9:30am – Newcastle Jets 1 (K. White 3′) drew Brisbane Roar 1 (T. Shepland 33′)

9:30am – Western Australia 1 (S. Byrne 11′) drew QLD Country 1 (T. Obani 7′)

10:30am – NSW Metro Blue 2 (J. Fakhoury 9′, M. Di Pizio 19′) def. South Australia Blue 1 (J. Zganec 14′)

10:30am – Northern Territory 1 (Z. Arias 14′) def. by NSW Country 3 (C. Cramer 3′, B. Wilson 13′, P. Kasawaya 25′)

12:30pm – Capital Football 0 def. by Victoria Metro 2 (N. Magarelli 35′, 42′)

12:30pm – Perth Glory 1 (D. Adesina 43′) def. Newcastle Jets 0

1:30pm – Newcastle Jets 12s 0 def. by South Australia Red 4 (C. Harris 38′, J. Garuccio 40′, P. McGregor 44′, L. Dobrovolski 47′)

1:30pm – QLD Country 0 def. by Northern NSW 1 (C. Vimpani 24′)

2:30pm – South Australia Blue 1 (J. Zganec) def. by NSW Metro White 2 (M. Fernandez 15′, H. Rushton 19′)

2:30pm – NSW Country 0 def. by Tasmania 2 (R.Bradford 12′, D .Arnaiz 40′)

3:30pm – Brisbane Roar 2 (O. Sonata 4′, K. McDougall 18′) def. Perth Glory 0

4:30pm – Victoria Country 0 def. by Victoria Metro 2 (R. Tafunai 20′, L. Green 24′)

14 Years

8:30am – Western Australia 3 (S. Hourani 12′, E. Banks 29′, R. Rahamim 32′) drew Victoria Metro White 3 (L. Minsink 8′, T. Minutoli 25′, L. Vickery 36′)

8:30am – Newcastle Jets 3 (E. Thomas Gilmore 18′, 50′) A. Tan 44′) def. Brisbane Roar 0

9:30am – Victoria Country 2 (A.Moorfoot 33′, Z. Francis 50′) def. Capital Football 0

9:30am – QLD Metro 5 (L. Moore 1′, 16′, S. Lee 7′, 25′, C. Deng 36′) def. NSW Country 0

10:30am – NSW Metro Blue 2 (R. St John 18′, J. Gasking 26′) def. QLD Country 1 (L. Mauro 36′)

10:30am – Northern Territory 0 def. by South Australia Blue 1 (M. Ali 33′)

11:30am – Perth Glory 2 (J. McDougall 10′, S. Despotovski 40′) def. Newcastle Jets 0

12:30pm – Victoria Metro White 0 def. by Victoria Metro Blue 2 (J. Najdovski 19′, M. Caputo 32′)

1:30pm – Capital Football 0 def. by South Australia Red 2 (M. Toure 6′, C. Campbell 31′)

2:30pm – QLD Country 0 def. by NSW Metro White 4 (G. Jabbour 12′, F. Dinovski 15′, 25′, D. Rasera 36′)

2:30pm – South Australia Blue 0 def. by Tasmania 1 (K. Simpson 22′)

3:30pm – NSW Country 0 def. by Northern NSW 1 (B. Boonstra 26′)

4:30pm – Western Australia 2 (O. Boruc 21′, T. Snook 22′) def. Victoria Metro Blue 1 (N. Connel 47′)

4:30pm – Brisbane Roar 1 (J. Dennis 30′) def. Perth Glory 0