hHome Find a Club

Five-star Kingsway off to a flyer

Report by Max Hayden-Evans

Newly promoted Olympic Kingsway have picked up where they left off last season, opening their State League Division One campaign with a 5-1 win over Subiaco at Kingsway Reserve on Saturday.

Ajak Riak opened the scoring for Kingsway when he finished off a delicate through ball, the only chance he would convert for the afternoon despite other big opportunities.

Kingsway were nearly left to rue their wastefulness in front of goal when Nathan Smith equalised for Subiaco with 20 minutes to play.

However, a late charge and some sloppy defending saw Kingsway lift to score four goals in the latter stages of the match to deny Subiaco anything from their season opener.

Midfielder Kris Gate put in an impressive shift for Kingsway. The Englishman, who suffered a broken jaw while at Balcatta last season, scored goals either side of strikes from Gyles Davies and substitute Michael Rizidis.

Gate’s second goal deep into injury time was a stunning long-range strike that caught Subiaco goalkeeper Teophile Brown napping off his line. The highlight-reel strike capped off a fruitful afternoon for Kingsway and a winning start to Gary Williams’ tenure as Kingsway head coach.

For Subiaco, who were relegated from the NPL last season, it is back to the drawing board for them and head coach Basil Lenzo ahead of a bye next week before taking on Morley Windmills at home a week later.

Kingsway, who won Division Two without losing a match, will next face Mandurah at home next weekend.

Star man: Kris Gate

Olympic Kingsway SC 5 (Riak 35min, Gate 74, 90+3, Davies 76, Rizidis 84)
Subiaco AFC (Smith 68)
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Kingsway Reserve
Kick-off: 3pm

Olympic Kingsway SC: 1. Duncan LENNON-BLACK (GK), 2. Gyles DAVIES, 4. Jordan POKLER, 5. Luke PALMATEER, 7. Abu DULLEH (6. Daragh KAVANAGH 74.), 9. Ajak RIAK, 10. Eraste VYAMUNGA (13. Michael RIZIDIS 50.) , 11. Jake LAVIS, 12. Christopher RIZIDIS (16. Rory KIELY 73.), 15. Kristopher GATE, 20. Kieron STALLARD (C)
Substitutes not used: 17. Nathan THORP, 25. Luke HUTCHESON (RGK)
Yellow cards: Lavis 41, Rizidis 75, Palmateer 81
Red cards: Nil

Subiaco AFC: 1. Teophile BROWN (GK), 3. Benjamin PULLELLA, 7. Benjamin CAMPBELL (15. Antonio NAGLIERI 64.), 8. Nathan SMITH (C), 9. Adam CARLINO, 10. Liam FYFE (19. Matthew CHERRIE 74.), 11. Shay DONOVAN, 12. Lucas ALLENDER, 13. Vasco DA SILVA, 16. Dean APELGREN, 18. Domenico DE FELICE (14. Mark PRITCHARD 70.)
Substitutes not used: 6. Oliver CHEVERALLS, 22. Sean MCCRACKEN (RGK)
Yellow cards: Da Silva 80
Red cards: Nil