hHome Find a Club
Floreat Athena celebrate their 2018 Night Series Final win over Subiaco

Floreat face Bayswater in Night Series opener

Football West News

Holders Floreat Athena will begin the defence of their NPL WA Night Series crown with a home match against Bayswater City next month.

The fixture is one of six Round One games that will take place at three venues on Friday, January 25.

The other first round matches in Pool Two are both at Dalmatinac Park – Armadale take on Perth Glory, who are now coached by former Socceroo Richard Garcia, before Cockburn City meet Balcatta.

Reigning NPL WA champions Perth SC have a tasty opener in Pool One when they face ECU Joondalup. This match will precede the Floreat-Bayswater tie at E&D Litis Stadium.

Perth Plasterboard Centre Stadium hosts the two other Pool One matches – Inglewood United, under new coach Trim Morgan, go up against Sorrento while NPL newcomers Rockingham City meet Stirling Lions.

The Night Series is split into two pools of six teams, with each side playing everyone else in their pool. The top two from each pool will advance into the semi finals, with the Night Series final taking place on Saturday, March 9.

Football West Head of Member Services Alex Novatsis said: “This year’s night series is an exciting time due to going back to a group format. This will allow clubs to participate in a minimum of five matches each, with the top two teams progressing to the semi finals.”

Round One fixtures
Friday, January 25

Pool One

Perth SC v ECU Joondalup (E&D Litis Stadium 6.30pm)
Inglewood United v Sorrento (Perth Plasterboard Centre Stadium 6.30pm)
Rockingham City v Stirling Lions (Perth Plasterboard Centre Stadium 8.30pm)

Pool Two

Armadale v Perth Glory (Dalmatinac Park, 6.30pm)
Cockburn City v Balcatta (Dalmatinac Park, 8.30pm)
Floreat Athena v Bayswater City (E&D Litis Stadium, 8.30pm)

For full Night Series fixtures CLICK HERE