hHome Find a Club
Delight for Floreat after their dramatic NPL Night Series win over Bayswater. Photo by FotoEnzo/Football West

Floreat win NPL Night Series on penalties

Report by Kelechi Osunwa

Floreat Athena defended their NPL Night Series crown with a 6-5 penalty shoot-out win over Bayswater City at Frank Drago Reserve on Saturday night after the match finished 1-1 at full-time.


A fiery encounter saw both teams cancel each other in an uneventful first half but a crowd of almost 3,000 were in for a treat after the interval.

Floreat started the second period the better and forced two goalline clearances from Bayswater along with a stunning Devon Spence save to deny Dean Evans.

However they took the lead moments later after Jonathan Stynes timed his far post run to perfection to head home from a left-wing cross.

Skipper Dean Evans and coach Garrett McDulling receive the NPL Night Series Trophy from Football West Deputy Chairman Henry Atturo. Photo by Football West/FotoEnzo

The game erupted when Floreat’s Calvin Whitney and Ryan Pearson of Bayswater were sent off for an altercation off the ball.

The red cards pushed Bayswater forward and with Floreat sitting deep and inviting pressure, Bayswater equalised in injury time when Jack Allen’s half-volley from outside the box arrowed into the bottom corner to send the game to penalties.

The first 11 penalties were all scored until fortune turned for the unlucky Allen, whose spot-kick was kept out by Floreat keeper Jason Saldaris’ right boot. It was the second successive week that Saldaris was Athena’s spot-kick saviour as he ensured his side took the trophy.

Star man: Jonathan Stynes (Floreat Athena)

Bayswater SC 1 (Allen 90 + 1min)
Floreat Athena 1 (J Stynes 71)
(Floreat won 6-5 on penalties)

Saturday, March, 9, 2019
Frank Drago Reserve
Referee: Steven Gregory
Assistant Referee: Josh Manella, Arvin Shanmuganathan
Fourth Official: Julian Serra

Bayswater City: GK Devon SPENCE, 11. Ryan PEARSON, 5. Adam HARRIS (13. Trent KAY 80), 12. Steve HESKETH, 3. Jack ALLEN, 26. Paul LLOYD, 30. Adam TONG, 17. Darryl NICOL, 10. Jason MIRCO (20. Giordano COLLI 86), 19. Gordon SMITH, 27. Ross MILLARD
Subsitutes not used: 25. Luke HUTCHINSON, 22. Shaydon PASSALACQUA, 24. Jake SARDELIC
Yellow cards: Smith 38, Kay 85, Allen 78
Red cards:
Pearson 79

Floreat Athena: GK Jason SALDARIS, 2. Marco SANTALUCIA, 5. Tom JEBB, 6. Jesse FULLER, 8. Jonathan STYNES, 9. Robert PETKOV, 10. Calvin WHITNEY, 11. Dennis GALAN, 12. Luka NINKOVIC (20. Nick AMBROGIO 61), 17. Dean EVANS, 18. Phillip ARNOLD (33. Jack ANDREWS 90)
Substitutes not used: 16. Ryan MALTON, 13. George FESTA, 23. Jordan BARBAS
Yellow cards:
Galan 36, R Stynes 67
Red cards: Whitney 79