hHome Find a Club
Forretfield United celebrate the Night Series triumph. Photo by FotoEnzo/Football West

Forrestfield win State League Night Series

Report by Kelechi Osunwa

Forrestfield United came from behind to run out deserved 3-1 winners in Saturday’s Football West State League Night Series Final at Frank Drago Reserve.


Gwelup took the lead against the run of play when Ellis Healing fired home from outside the area after great work from Lawrence Shuruma.

Forrestfield had wait to the second half for their first real opportunity to score after being awarded a free kick right on the edge of the area.

Riley Stephenson parried Rhys Loxley’s free-kick right into the path of Jordan Hart but the winger could only direct his header over the bar.

Forrestfield skipper Rhys Loxley receives the Night Series trophy from Football West Deputy Chairman Henry Atturo. Photo by FotoEnzo/Football West

But Forrestfield equalised moments later in superb fashion when Jarred McNally curled a gorgeous effort in off the left post from 25 meters out.

Forrestfield took the lead when Hart powered down the wing and his cross found Dan Corbett at the near post.

Gwelup pushed forward with the game slipping out their hands but Forrestfield made it 3-1 on the break. Loxley broke down the left and his shot proved too hot for Stephenson to handle.

Gwelup made a late surge in search of a goal, throwing Bobby Wilson up front, but it wasn’t to be as Forrestfield held on to lift the Night Series title.

Star Player: Josh Appleby (Forrestfield United)

Gwelup Croatia 1 (Healing 12min)
Forrestfield United 3 (McNally 59, Corbett 75, Loxley 79)

Saturday, March 9, 2019
Frank Drago Reserve
Kick-off: 5pm
Stewart Beattie
Assistant Referee: Simon Hicks, Amit Hosany
Fourth Official: Shane Skinner

Gwelup Croatia: 98 Riley STEPHENSON, 20. Bobby WILSON, 6. Brodie MARTIN, 14. Ciaran SALINGER, 11. Ellis HEALING, 5. Hayden LOWE, 13. Jason RUBIDGE (9. David HEAGNEY 59), 2. Lawrence SHURUMA (3. Isaac KOOMSON 75), 10. Luke RANDAZZO (7. James SAMMUT 65), 8. Matthew SPARROW, 4. Sam WYNNE
Substitutes not used: 1. Mitchell PAPAS, 19. Tyler UGLOW
Yellow cards: Lowe 45
Red cards: Nil

Forrestfield United: 18, Benjamin PARRY GK, 12. Dan CORBETT, 16. Jake PEN, 9. Jarred McNALLY (14. Benjamin Rodgers 89), 13. Jordan HART, 6. Josh APPLEBY, 10. Josh PEREIRA, 15. Michael FLETCHER, 7. Mitchel CROCKER (17. Ryan Francis 70), 23. Rhys LOXLEY, 4. Stephen O’LEARY
Substitutes not used: 21. Albert LUWI, 8. Josh KOTIO, 19. Liam MERRIGAN
Yellow cards: McNally 24, Loxley 35, Pereira 63, O’Leary 82
Red cards: Nil