hHome Find a Club
Socceroos Head Coach Graham Arnold. Photo by Francois Nel/Getty Images

Four West Aussies in Socceroos squad

Football Federation Australia News

Caltex Socceroos Head Coach named four West Australians in his squad for the upcoming friendly international away to Korea Republic.

Brothers Ryan and Rhys Williams, Brandon O’Neill and Adam Taggart are in the squad for next month’s friendly in Busan.

Head Coach Graham Arnold announced six potential debutants in his squad – winger Ryan Williams, O’Neill and his Sydney FC championship winning teammate Andrew Redmayne, German-based striker Brandon Borrello, 20-year-old defender Harry Souttar and Melbourne Victory’s Lawrence Thomas.

Perth Glory pair Chris Ikonomidis and Matthew Spiranovic are also included.

BUSAN: A guide to the city hosting Korea Republic v Australia in June
CONFIRMED: Caltex Socceroos to face Korea Republic
Who are the six new faces in the Caltex Socceroos squad?

Arnold said: “Our World Cup qualification campaign preparations start now. The upcoming camp and friendly international in Korea Republic provides us the opportunity to expose more players to international football, which is vital as we prepare for a long qualification campaign.

“We have seen how arduous the previous World Cup path was for our squad and it is imperative that we spend this valuable time together to have a close look and some of our next generation.

“We have 11 players in this squad who have all had excellent seasons in the domestic competition and my message to those playing in the Hyundai A-League is that if you are playing regularly and consistently for your club, you will come into consideration for the next phase of World Cup qualifiers.

WATCH: Graham Arnold’s squad announcement press conference 

“This international window also gives me the chance to spend an extended time with some of our more experienced players who have recently been missing from international football, but have been playing well for their respective clubs like Matthew Spiranovic, Rhys Williams, Adam Taggart, Bailey Wright, Josh Brillante and Brad Smith.”

Arnold said it was also important that the players involved in the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019™, The FIFA World Cup Russia 2018™ and the FIFA Confederations Cup 2017™, had an opportunity to refresh ahead of the new season.

“The last couple of years has been tough on many of our senior players with little rest in between seasons. I know what those guys are capable of and I believe it is important they start their new campaigns with fresh bodies and minds. They will all be considered again for our first round of qualifiers in September,” he said.

The inclusion of Rhys and Ryan Williams is the first time two brothers have been named in a Socceroos squad since Dylan and Ryan McGowan were selected in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup squad.  Other brothers to represent the Socceroos in recent times include Adam and Joel Griffiths in May 2008, Adam and Ryan Griffiths in March 2008, Tony and Aurelio Vidmar in 2001 and John and Ross Aloisi in 1998.

The international friendly against Korea Republic will be played on Friday, 7 June in Busan and will be Australia’s first senior men’s international since the completion of the AFC Asian Cup UAE 2019™.

Australia will discover its opponents for the first phase of qualifiers in July, and will play FIFA World Cup preliminary fixtures on the road to Qatar at home and abroad in September, October, and November 2019.

Australia’s match against Korea Republic will kick-off at 8pm local time (7pm WST), and will be broadcast live in Australia on FOX SPORTS and Network 10 (10 Bold).

Caltex Socceroos Squad | FIFA Window – June 2019 | Korea Republic Friendly


Club, Country

A-International Caps (Goals)

Mustafa Amini

Aarhus Gymnastikforening, Denmark

5 (0)

Terry Antonis

Melbourne Victory, Australia

3 (0)

Aziz Behich

PSV Eindhoven, Netherlands

35 (2)

Brandon Borrello

SC Freiberg, Germany

0 (0)

Joshua Brillante

Sydney FC, Australia

5 (0)

Thomas Deng

Melbourne Victory, Australia

1 (0)

Craig Goodwin

Adelaide United, Australia

3 (0)

Rhyan Grant

Sydney FC, Australia

7 (0)

Chris Ikonomidis

Perth Glory, Australia

12 (2)

James Jeggo

Austria Wien, Austria

1 (0)

Matthew Jurman

Al-Ittihad, Saudi Arabia

7 (0)

Mitch Langerak

Nagoya Grampus, Japan

8 (0)

Awer Mabil

FC Midtjylland, Denmark

9 (4)

Brandon O’Neill

Sydney FC, Australia

0 (0)

Dimitri Petratos

Newcastle Jets, Australia

2 (0)

Andrew Redmayne

Sydney FC, Australia

0 (0)

Brad Smith

Seattle Sounders FC, USA

19 (0)

Harry Souttar

Stoke City FC, England

0 (0)

Matthew Spiranovic

Perth Glory, Australia

35 (0)

Adam Taggart

Suwon Bluewings, Korea Republic

8 (4)

Lawrence Thomas

Melbourne Victory, Australia

0 (0)

Rhys Williams

Al-Qadsiah FC, Saudi Arabia

14 (0)

Ryan Williams

Rotherham United, England

0 (0)

Bailey Wright

Bristol City FC, England

23 (1)

Upcoming Match | Caltex Socceroos

Korea Republic vs. Caltex Socceroos (International Friendly)
Date: Friday, 7 June 2019
Venue: Busan Asiad Stadium, Busan, Korea Republic
Kick-off: 8.00pm (local); 7.00pm (WST)
Broadcast: Live in Australia on FOX SPORTS and Network 10 (10 Bold)