hHome Find a Club
Kingsley celebrate their 2019 Belt Up Amateur Premier Division title win. Photo by Peter Simcox

Kingsley are Amateur champions

Football West News

Kingsley have claimed the Belt Up Amateur Premier Division title with two games to spare after a 3-0 victory over Leeming Strikers at Chichester Park.

It was a momentous occasion for the club who have been crowned league champions for the first time after finishing second the previous two seasons.

And Kingsley are to accept promotion to State League Division Two, the first time a club has made the transition since Gwelup Croatia in 2016.


It was a dominant performance from Kingsley who knew that if they won and Quinns were unable to get maximum points away to Jaguar, the league would be theirs.

Kingsley took the lead after only 11 minutes when Simone Sichel headed home a Lee Thomas corner.

Jayden Drummond had some early chances at goal and Thomas continued to have great delivery from set pieces as Kingsley won their battles all over the park.

Sichel had two more great chances in the second half but saw his effort cleared off the line on both occasions.

But the second goal came in the 61st minute as a great cross from Ryan Brown just minutes after coming on was headed into the bottom corner by Drummond.

And the result was secured after 85 minutes when a great pass from Lewis Flatt found Joel Gillespie in the box who found space before slotting away the shot.

After a slight delay as the 3-3 draw between Quinns and Jaguar was confirmed the celebrations started and were set to continue long into the night.

Kingsley can leave Sunday football with two trophies when they meet Carramar in the Belt Up Amateur Cup Final in a few weeks.

Star player: Jayden Drummond (Kingsley)

Kingsley 3 (Sichel 11min, Drummond 61, Gillespie 85)
Leeming Strikers 0

Sunday, September 8, 2019
Chichester Park
Kick-off: 3pm
Referee: Peter Kaiser
Assistant referees: I Premtoski, supplied

Kingsley: 65. Ryan Moss, 15. Ryan Carr, 16. Jesse Higgins, 5. Adam Oniell, 3. Bailey Salmon (6. Luke Coltman 83), 8. Joel Gillespie, 7. Lewis Flatt, 13. Lee Thomas, 10. Jayden Drummond, 2. Simone Sichel (9. Sean Johnson 65), 12. Josh Waldock (11. Ryan Brown 60)
Substitutes not used: 14. Stuart Montgomery, 1. Rob Andrews
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil

Leeming Strikers: 1. Jordan Jones (23. Josh Blackman 25), 2. Michael Maratea (19. David Palin 75), 22. Baldave Singh, 4. Matt Bennion, 5. Tom Grant, 8. Danny McKenzie, 15. McKenzie Burgoyne, 6. Pavlo Coerizo, 7. Ben Greaves, 17. Ayden Evans, 11. Lucas Pickering
Substitutes not used: 16. Scott McDowell, 12. Liam Montgomery, 18. Brad North
Yellow cards: Nil
Red cards: Nil