hHome Find a Club
The victorious Swan United players take the acclaim of the home fans at Swan Italian Club. Photo by Colin Feilen

Swan United promoted to Division One

Report by Louis Granich

Swan United will play in State League Division One in 2020 after they completed a 5-1 aggregate victory over Murdoch University Melville in the Inter Divisional Play Off Final.

Swan finished the job with a 3-0 win in Saturday’s second leg at the Swan Italian Club, following their 2-1 victory at Melville three days ago.

Paul Dundo’s side got off to the perfect start when David Foster and John Monterosso linked to capitalise on some poor Murdoch defending inside five minutes. Foster prodded a sideways ball to Monterosso who opened the scoring with a clinical first-time finish into the bottom corner.

Murdoch looked to answer and chances fell to both Declan Tanna and Adrian Ciampini. However, Joe Smith made a couple of crucial saves to keep them out.

Monteresso then gave the Murdoch forwards a lesson in finishing, scoring his second goal on the half-hour mark. Foster and Merrigan combined well to put the winger through on goal and he made no mistake with a finish remarkably similar to his opener.

Swan came out after the interval with a strong defensive display and with Chris Marshall and Aaron Colli organising the back four, they kept Murdoch at arm’s length for most of the second half.

As the clock ticked down, Gavin Brown’s side threw caution to the wind as they looked for a repeat of their sem-final recovery against Gosnells City.

But Swan still looked threatening on the break and their defensive prowess and patience were rewarded when Foster chased down a through ball and rounded Alec Radonich to score the third goal and confirm Swan United’s promotion to Division One.

Star player: John Monterosso (Swan United)

Swan United 3 (Monterosso 5 30, Foster 85)
Murdoch University Melville 0
Swan win 5-1 on aggregate

Swan United: 13. Joe SMITH, 7. Alan PATAROV, 8. Aaron COLLI, 5. Chris MARSHALL, 12. Lucas ALLENDER, 16. Jay LANG, 14. Brennan BORZECKI, 10. Brian PATTERSON, 6. Liam MERRIGAN, 9. David FOSTER, 11. John MONTEROSSO (4. Luke COLLI) (2. Marco TRIMBOLI) (17. Thomas BLACK)
Substitutes not used: 1. Connor ANDERSON, 18. David PAONE

Murdoch University Melville: 21. Alec RADONICH, 2. Beau RAHIM, 3. Tom PELLIZZARI, 5. Ryan TUCKER 6. Broden BROWN, 7. Adrian CIAMPINI, 8. Mark LUCAS (c), 10. Godfrey ASIMWE 11. Declan TANNA, 12. Callum MELLOWSHIP, 19. Josip VUJICA (9. Christian LONG) (15. Simon EL CHAMI) (8. Samuel COOK)
Substitutes not used: 1. Joseph GAN, 14. Anthony LOMMA