hHome Find a Club

Nicol, Jukic take top awards

Football West News

Football West crowned its Players of the Year at the 2018 All Flags WA Football Awards at Crown Perth on Saturday night.

Daryl Nicol of ECU Joondalup won the All Flags Men’s Gold Medal, while Katarina Jukic from Queens Park took the All Flags Women’s Gold Medal.

“This is a fantastic honour, I know how many good players there are in the NPL,” said ECU Joondalup striker Nicol, who recorded a record 45 votes – 10 clear of his nearest challenger, David Perich of Subiaco.

“Everyone in football knows you can’t do it without your teammates and so I’d like to thank the guys from ECU.”

The Gold Medal success capped a special season for the Scot, who was also joint winner of the National Premier Leagues WA Golden Boot after finishing top goalscorer with Armadale’s Chris Jackson.

Jukic’s award meant the Queens Park star has gone back to back after she was also named Best Female Player in 2017.

“I really didn’t expect this,” said Jukic, who finished three votes clear of nearest rival Christiane Astorp of Balcatta.

“The girls have been fantastic all season. We have a special bond.”

Like Nicol, Jukic also completed an individual double after winning the Women’s Premier Division Golden Boot.

Perth Glory’s Jake Brimmer, who is part of the club’s A-League squad, won the Dylan Tombides Young Player of the Year Award.

Rockingham City’s James Harmer was named State League Division One Player of the Year after helping his side gain promotion to the NPL, while Danny Hodgson, a key member of Olympic Kingsway’s unbeaten title run, claimed the Division Two Player of the Year award.

The Belt Up Amateur League Player of the Year went to Jesse Higgins of Kingsley.

Perth SC’s Ramon Falzon was named NPL WA Coach of the Year after guiding the Azzurri to the league title and Top Four Cup success, while Queens Park’s Ben Anderton, whose side were unbeaten in winning the Women’s Premier Division, was named Women’s Coach of the Year.

Gwelup Croatia’s Taki Nicolaidis won the State League Division One Coach of the Year award after his side finished second to Rockingham and reached the national Round of 32 in the FFA Cup.

Wanneroo City’s Tim Kantor was named Division Two Coach of the Year, while the Belt Up Amateur League Coach of the Year award went to Kingsley’s Steve Dimitrovich.

Quinns FC stalwart Vicki Frost was recognised as the 2018 Volunteer of the Year.


All Flags Gold Medal Winners
NPL WA Best Male Player: Daryl Nicol (ECU Joondalup)
Women’s Premier Best Female Player: Katarina Jukic (Queens Park)

Dylan Tombides Young Player of the Year
Jake Brimmer (Perth Glory)

NPLWA Golden Boot
Daryl Nicol (ECU Joondalup) and Chris Jackson (Armadale)

NPLWA Goal of the Season
Antoine Lemarie (Forrestfield United)

State League Players of the Year
Division One: James Harmer (Rockingham City)
Division Two: Danny Hodgson (Olympic Kingsway)

Belt Up Amateur League Player of the Year
Premier Division: Jesse Higgins (Kingsley)

Coaches of the Year
NPL WA: Ramon Falzon (Perth SC)
Women’s Premier Division: Ben Anderton (Queens Park)
State League Division One: Taki Nicolaidis (Gwelup Croatia)
State League Division Two: Tim Kantor (Wanneroo City)
Belt Up Amateur Premier Division: Steve Dimitrovich (Kingsley)

Women’s State Premier League Goalkeeper of the Year
Morgan Aquino (Football West NTC)

NPLWA Goalkeeper of the Year
Jason Saldaris (Floreat Athena) and Alex Dunn (Inglewood United)

Belt Up Amateur Premier League Goalkeeper of the Year
Paul Rainford (Kingsley)

Volunteer of the Year
Vicki Frost (Quinns FC)

David Cantoni Disabilities in Football Player Achievement Award
Alessandro La Verghetta

All Flags Golden Whistle Referee of the Year
Adam Fielding