hHome Find a Club
1994 IFC Perth Kangaroos. Photo: paddockstopitches.com

Paying tribute to the Kangaroos

The Roos were unbeaten in 18 games ? winning 17 and drawing one ? when they strode to an impressive triumph in the Singapore Premier League in 1994.

To honour that achievement, a special Tribute Night celebration will be held at the Perth SC club at Dorrien Gardens on Thursday, June 19.

The event is being organised by Gary Marocchi, who coached the Kangaroos, and his assistant, Micky Brennan.

"We feel that such an important milestone can’t be allowed to slip past without some sort of recognition," said Marocchi, who is now President of Perth SC.

The Kangaroos comprised players from the WA State League and many of them went on to play for Perth Glory in the National Soccer League.

The squad: Vladimir Beretovac, Steve Bourne, Michael Brennan, Alex Cummings, Paul Dimmock, Gary Lees, Sean Lynch, Ray Marinovic, Gary Marocchi, Joe Marrapodi, Vince Matassa, Brendon McEntyre, Paul McVittie, Tasos Notalas, Michael Petkovic, Scott Miller, Craig Naven, Gareth Naven, Taki Nicolaidis, Tim Slack, Paul Strudwick, Vince Tana, Stephen Willey, Dale Wingell, Jason Van Rooy.