hHome Find a Club

Perth SC U20s win on penalties

Report by Ryan Borrett

Perth SC lifted the McInerney Ford Under 20 Top Four Cup after defeating a gallant ECU Joondalup 4-2 on penalties after a 1-1 draw over 90 minutes on Saturday at Frank Drago Reserve.

Perth went ahead in the match through Louis Rossi’s 20th minute strike but were unable to gain full control of the match.

At the same time ECU didn’t let their heads drop after going behind and created several good chances.

ECU almost equalised on the stroke of half time but Jack Carroll’s half volley from inside the box went just over the crossbar.

ECU, who beat Perth SC 4-0 in their semi final last week, were the better side in the second half and finally found a fortunate equaliser in the 70th minute after Perth’s George Festa put the ball into his own net after a high ball was played into the Azzurri box.

The Jacks continued to attack after scoring the equalising goal and Liam Murray, who was excellent all match, came extremely close in the 83rd minute after cutting inside on the left wing and shooting but his drive hit the post.

Neither side could find a break through goal in the remainder of the match despite some good chances and after 90 minutes the result was to be settled from the penalty spot.

Perth goalkeeper Malek Luc was the hero for his side in the penalty shoot-out, making two excellent stops to deny Ronald Rixer and Ben Hinshelwood.

Luke Garas and Ali Nazary both converted from the spot for Perth after Luc’s vital saves to win the match 4-2 on penalties.

The Grand Final win for the Azzurri comes after they finished second to ECU Joondalup in the NPL WA U20 this season, giving them some reward to conclude their 2018 season.

ECU Joondalup 1 (Festa og 70 min)
Perth SC 1 (Rossi 20)
(Perth win 4-2 on penalties)
Saturday, September 8
Frank Drago Reserve
Kick-off: 12.15pm
Referee: Stephen Knight
Assistant referees: Martin Hicks, Alexander Best
Fourth official: Brendan Skinner

ECU Joondalup: 1. Jack NUNN, 3. Ciaran SALINGER, 4. Harry EDWARDS, 5. Nicholas KOEFLER, 7. Jack CARROLL (17. Dylan LEONARD 57), 8. Ronald RIXER, 9. Ben HINSHELWOOD, 10. Liam MURRAY, 11. Liam FYFE, 12. James BRUCE, 18. Logan MCISAAC
Unused substitutes: 2. Luke RHODES, 6. Lewis TUCKER, 13. Euan FRASER, 20. George JACKSON
Yellow cards: McIsaac 22, Rhodes 35
Red cards: Nil

Perth SC: 1. Malek LUC, 3. Sam THORNILEY, 6. Michael ZIMARINO, 7. Luke GARAS, 9. Adam ZIMARINO, 10. Cameron PIQUE, 12. Callum MELLOWSHIP, 13. George FESTA, 15. Louis ROSSI (11. Ali NAZARY 82), 17. James FANELLI, 19. Ben PULLELLA
Substitutes not used: 14. Jacob STUBBERSFIELD, 21. Lennon CRANE, 23. Seb BELL
Yellow cards: Garas 33, M. Zimarino 45+1, Rossi 51
Red cards: Nil