hHome Find a Club
Benny Kouakou in FFA Cup action for Gwelup Croatia against Adelaide Comets at Dorrien Gardens on Wednesday night. Kouakou has been named in the Gold Fields State squad to face Perth Glory next week. Photo by FotoEnzo/Football West

State squad named to face Glory

Football West News

The Gold Fields State squad to play Perth Glory in the Challenge Cup next Wednesday night has been named.

Every NPL WA club has a player involved except for Glory and Belt Up Cup winners Armadale, who are in FFA Cup action against Cairns in Queensland on the same night.

Gwelup Croatia’s Benny Kouakou is the only current non-NPL player in the 22-man squad and he’ll look to offer a goal threat along with ECU Joondalup’s Daryl Nicol and Alex Salmon of Inglewood.

The two goalkeepers in the squad are James Morgan of Sorrento and Cockburn’s Luke Radonich.

Football West Head of Development Jamie Harnwell will coach the side with Brad Hassell his assistant.

The match takes place at Inglewood United’s Perth Plasterboard Centre Stadium at 7pm on Wednesday, August 1. It is free entry.

Gold Fields State squad v Perth Glory

Jonathan Corness Balcatta
Callum O’Connell Balcatta
Gian Albano Bayswater City
David Stokoe Bayswater City
Cameron Edwards Cockburn City
Luke Radonich (Gk) Cockburn City
Shane Cassidy ECU Joondalup
Daryl Nicol ECU Joondalup
Chris Saldaris Floreat Athena
Calvin Whitney Floreat Athena
Hasani Sinclair Forrestfield United
Tom Southgate Forrestfield United
Benny Kouakou Gwelup Croatia
Alex Ishida-Livings Inglewood United
Alex Salmon Inglewood United
Johnny Chalmers Joondalup United
Rocco Pizzata Perth SC
Paul Zimarino Perth SC
James Morgan (Gk) Sorrento
Scott Witschge Sorrento
David Micevski Stirling Lions
David Perich Subiaco