hHome Find a Club
Players from the Gold Fields Under 13 and Under 14 State squads receive their shirts for the 2018 National Youth Championships later this month. Photo by Football West/FotoEnzo

State squads aim for more glory

Football West News

The Gold Fields Under 13 and Under 14 State squads will be aiming for more silverware when they take part in the upcoming National Youth Championships.

A shirt presentation for players was held at the Loftus Centre in Leederville this week.

The championships take place at the C.ex International Stadium, Coffs Harbour, NSW, from Monday, September 24 to Friday, September 28.



This will be the first NYC when both State representative teams and Hyundai A-League 2 Star Academies will participate.

Football West Technical Manager Cris Ola said: Although this year’s Boys NYC will be more competitive than previous editions by adding a number of HAL 2 Star Academies, we are happy to be able to expose a good pool of talented players in our WA squads in addition to the Perth Glory Academy squads.

“And I’m sure we will continue to display a good and proactive brand of football and also to have a number of players in contention for identification by the National selectors.”

The winning Under 13 side from 2017

In 2017 the WA State Boys Under 13 team, coached by Brad Hassell, won the National Youth Championships while the Under 14 side finished as runners up.


Gold Fields Under 13 State squad: Reece Bantleman, Jacob Evans, Louis Hadfield, Josh Kingston, Jay Patel, Toby Snook (all ECU Joondalup), Francis Ballah, Tayton Bosman (Gk) (both Ellenbrook United), Adeson Oyasope, Dickson Phoon (Gk) (both Fremantle City), Adam Csontos, Michael Huynh, Perry McQueen (all Inglewood United), Khoa Ngo (Joondalup United), Sam Byrne (Mandurah City), Cohen Monteiro (Perth SC), Dylan Di Toro (Subiaco)

Gold Fields Under 14 State squad: Luke Passeretto (Balcatta), Aidan Coyne, Sebastian Gomez, Daniel Katz, Matsuki Kondo, Oliver Makin, Taiga Matoba, Kane McEwan, Joseph Pollard (Gk), Callum Piper, Shade Stewart (all ECU Joondalup), Alexander Christodoulakis (Floreat Athena), Max Blackshaw, Isaac Driessen (Gk), Liam Ellison, Cory McNelis (all Murdoch University Melville), Rory Betts (Perth SC)