hHome Find a Club

Stone thrown in to face Glory

Football West News

The Gold Fields State squad for this Thursday’s Challenge Cup match against Perth Glory has been named.

Western Knights goalkeeper Sam Stone is the sole non-National Premier Leagues WA player in coach Jamie Harnwell’s 19-man party. The other keeper in the squad is Cockburn City’s Luke Radonich, who played for the State Team against Glory at Inglewood United last month.

Floreat Athena’s Chris Saldaris and Hasani Sinclair of Forrestfeld United – the two players who scored for the State Team in the 5-2 loss to Glory – are also recalled.

Armadale striker Chris Jackson is also included, however fellow Golden Boot winner Daryl Nicol is unavailable because of work commitments.

The Gold Fields State Team will have no Perth SC representatives as the National Premier Leagues WA champions are representing Football West in the NPL Series in Sydney this weekend.

“We’re looking forward to giving Glory another good game,” Harnwell said.

“The weather was wet and wild last month so hopefully this week will be much better, which both teams will appreciate.

“Of course we would have liked to have included a few players from Perth SC but that gives a few other players a chance to impress, which I’m sure they’ll be desperate to take.”

Thursday’s match takes place at Cockburn City’s Dalmatinac Park with kick-off at 7pm. Admission is by gold coin donation, with proceeds going to mental health charity beyondblue.

Gold Fields State squad

Goalkeepers: Luke Radonich (Cockburn City), Sam Stone (Western Knights)

Defenders: Shane Cassidy (ECU Joondalup), Johnny Chalmers (Joondalup United), Trent Kay (Bayswater City), Callum O’Connell (Balcatta), Scott Robertson (Inglewood United), Chris Saldaris (Floreat Athena), Tom Southgate (Forrestfield United), David Stokoe (Bayswater City)

Midfielders: Jonathan Corness (Balcatta), Ellis Healling (Inglewood United), Liam Merigan (Forrestfield United), David Micevski (Stirling Lions)

Forwards: Gian Albano (Bayswater City), Chris Jackson (Armadale), Alex Salmon (Inglewood United), Hasani Sinclair (Forrestfield United), Brian Woodall (Inglewood United)