hHome Find a Club

WA Football Awards: Three-way tie while Nicol goes back to back

Football West News

A dramatic night at the WA Football Awards at Optus Stadium saw Daryl Nicol go back-to-back when winning the Men’s Gold Medal while there was a three-way tie in the race for the Women’s award.

Nicol, who took the medal while with ECU Joondalup in 2018, has repeated the trick in Bayswater City colours.

Men’s Gold Medal winner Daryl Nicol with Football West Chairman Sherif Andrawes

Floreat Athena skipper Dean Evans finished top of the count with 28 votes but was ineligible after collecting a red card during the season. This meant Nicol was crowned Player of the Year with 26 votes, three ahead of Rockingham City’s James Harmer.

In the Women’s Gold Medal count, there was a tie between Northern Redbacks skipper Shawn Billam and Fremantle City duo Laura Waltman and Gemma Craine. All three finished on 16 votes, one more than Balcatta’s Liana Cook.

Craine received the winner’s cheque for the Women’s Gold Medal on countback as she had the most amount of three votes.

Women’s Gold Medal winners Gemma Craine, Laura Waltman and Shawn Billam with Football West Chairman Sherif Andrawes

Inglewood United’s Chok Dau won the Dylan Tombides Young Player of the Year Award.

Angel Andres of Fremantle City was named State League Division One Player of the Year, while Richard Howles, whose goals helped fire Quinns to the title, claimed the Division Two Player of the Year award.

Perth SC’s Ramon Falzon was named Ron Tindall NPL WA Coach of the Year for the second successive year after his side retained their league title, while Conrad McKelvie of Women’s Premier League winners Northern Redbacks was named Women’s Coach of the Year.

Federal Member for Swan Steve Irons presents Ron Tindall NLWA Coach of the Year Ramon Falzon with his award

Gwelup Croatia’s Taki Nicolaidis took the State League Division One Coach of the Year award after his side won the title and promotion to the NPL WA, while Quinns’ Ian Ferguson was named Division Two Coach of the Year.

Former WA Soccer Federation President and Secretary Julius Re, who has served football in Western Australia for the past seven decades, received the Football West Life Member Award.

Gwelup Croatia’s Ilija Mihalj was named David Schrandt Administrator and Volunteer of the Year, while the David Cantoni Disabilities in Football Player Achievement Award went to Emily Casella, who represented Australia at the World Games Special Olympics in UAE.

Women’s State League Golden Boot winner Sarah Carroll

The winner of the Hyundai Community Football Raffle was Melanie Torrance, who bought her ticket through Sorrento FC. Thanks to Hyundai, Melanie receives a brand new Hyundai Santa Fe Active seven-seater, worth over $52,000.

– Football West acknowledges the Men’s Gold Medal winner received a cheque showing an incorrect prize money amount.

Football West apologises for the error and since 2017 has ensured that there is equal prize money for both the male and female player of the year.

In good faith, both the Men’s Gold Medal and Women’s Gold Medal winner will receive the equal prize money of $10,000.

Gender equality in football and the broader community is a key issue and Football West has been and will continue to focus on improving the opportunity and support for female footballers across WA.

Dylan Tombides Young Player of the Year Chok Dau, second left


Gold Medal Winners

Men’s Gold Medal Winner
Daryl Nicol (Bayswater City)

Women’s Gold Medal Winners
Shawn Billam (Northern Redbacks), Laura Waltman (Fremantle City) and Gemma Craine* (Fremantle City)

*Gemma Craine received the winner’s cheque for the Women’s Gold Medal on countback as she had the most three votes

Dylan Tombides Young Player of the Year
Chok Dau (Inglewood United)

State League Players of the Year
Division One: Angel Andres (Fremantle City)
Division Two: Richard Howles (Quinns FC)

Coaches of the Year
Ramon Falzon (Perth SC)
Women’s Premier League: Conrad McKelvie (Northern Redbacks)
State League Division One: Taki Nicolaidis (Gwelup Croatia)
State League Division Two: Ian Ferguson (Quinns FC)

Golden Boot Winners
NPL WA Golden Boot: Michael Domfeh (Perth SC)
Women’s Premier League Golden Boot: Sarah Carroll (Northern Redbacks)
State League Division One Golden Boot: Ellis Healing (Gwelup Croatia)
State League Division Two Golden Boot: Richard Howles (Quinns FC)

Goalkeepers of the Year
NPL WA Goalkeeper of the Year: Jason Saldaris (Floreat Athena) and Alex Dunn (Inglewood United)
Women’s Premier League Goalkeeper of the Year: Morgan Aquino (Northern Redbacks)

Football West Life Member Award: Julius Re

NPL WA U18 Player of the Year: Daniel Mackenzie (Bayswater City)
NPL WA U20 Player of the Year: Charlie Betts (Bayswater City)

David Schrandt Administrator and Volunteer of the Year: Ilija Mihalj (Gwelup Croatia)
David Cantoni Disabilities in Football Player Achievement Award: Emily Casella

All Flags Referee Awards
All Flags Golden Whistle Referee of the Year: Matthew Southern
Assistant Referee of the Year: Harry Bolan
Encouragement Award: Christopher Johnstone